The best way to beat a drug charge is by obtaining a defense attorney with knowledge of the complex related laws, such as those surrounding search and seizures. There is no substitute for the skills of an experienced drug crime attorney. If you or someone you love has been accused of a drug crime, it’s VITAL that they get the best representation available. No matter how big or small your case may seem, do not take a chance when it comes to your freedom. Call our criminal defense lawyers in Camdenton and Lebanon, MO, for your free consultation today. We can be reached at 573-346-9990. Your first consultation is FREE. In the meantime, keep reading this week’s blog for the answers to a few drug crime-related frequently asked questions we get.
Q: What are the punishments in MO for Marijuana Drug Possession?
A: Missouri has medical marijuana laws enacted; however, without a medical marijuana card you can still be charged with Marijuana Possession, under Missouri law, you can be charged with the following:
Up to 10 grams (first offense): Class D Misdemeanor, no incarceration, up to $500 fine
Up to 10 grams (second offense): Class A Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, up to $2,000 fine
More than 10-35 grams: Class A Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, up to $2,000 fine
More than 35-30 kilograms: (historically charged with intent to distribute) Felony, 7 years incarceration, up to $10,000 fine
Q: How strict is the state of Missouri when it comes to drug possession?
A: Missouri is one of the few states with extremely strict drug possession laws that consider any amount in your possession to be a very serious charge. For example, if you’re caught with a speck of cocaine in your car, you are going to face the same charges as someone with a gram of cocaine in their car. Possession of any controlled substance is considered a Class D felony under Missouri law. The one exception to that is marijuana — if you are in possession of 35 grams of marijuana or less you are charged with a misdemeanor. Delivery of a controlled substance and intent to distribute in Missouri are Class C felonies.
Q: What are the punishments for persistent drug offenders?
A: A prior drug offender is one who has been found guilty of any felony offense relating to controlled substances. A persistent drug offender is one who has been found guilty of two or more felony offenses relating to controlled substances. Persistent drug offenders may be sentenced one felony class level higher.
The felony class will determine the amount of jail time and fines you will be sentenced to.
Class A: 10-30 years incarceration
Class B: 5-15 years incarceration, 10-30 years for persistent offenders
Class C: 3-10 years incarceration, 5-15 years for persistent offenders
Class D: up to 7 years incarceration
Class E: up to 4 years incarceration, up to 7 for persistent offenders
Drug Crime Lawyers at the Lake of the Ozarks
If you have any more questions about drug crimes that we haven’t covered here, please give us a call and get your consultation scheduled today. We can be reached at 573-346-9990. You can also follow us on our social media channels listed below to stay up to date on our latest announcements. Remember, at the law firm of Deputy & Mizell, L.L.C., our criminal defense lawyers represent clients throughout the Lake of the Ozarks region and it is always our goal to protect your rights.
Contact Deputy & Mizell, LLC to schedule your private (FREE) consultation today.
Representing Clients Across the Lake of the Ozarks Region