The attorneys at Deputy & Mizell law firm help get your driver license back if it has been suspended or revoked. Losing your license is not only frustrating, but can also have a significant impact on your ability to provide for yourself and your family. If you have had your license suspended in the state of Missouri, you do have legal options. The process can seem complicated, our lawyers have experience assisting countless drivers with their license reinstatement, and we are here to help you too.SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
How to Restore Your Driver’s License
In Missouri, you can lose your privilege to drive for many different reasons. After a suspension is over, your driver’s license will not automatically be returned — you must file for reinstatement of your driving privileges with the Department of Revenue. The various suspensions, revocations, and denials often have different requirements that must be met before you can file for reinstatement. Most suspensions and revocations require you to file various forms, while five- and ten-year license denials for multiple driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions require a petition filed in court. A license reinstatement defense lawyer can guide you through the complex process.
Why Was Your Driving Privilege Taken Away?
First, you must figure out the reason your license has been suspended, revoked, or denied. The Department of Revenue may have sent you a letter stating the reason or reasons why and you can also contact the Missouri Department of Revenue. There may be multiple issues or “Department Actions” that are active on your driver’s record and each one must be resolved in order to reinstate a license.
The most common situations that lead to a license suspension, revocation, or denial are:
- An accumulation of excess points within a given period of time
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more if over 21 years of age
- A BAC of .02 or more if under 21 years of age
- Refuse to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test
- A DWI, DUI, or other alcohol-related conviction
- Non-payment of child support
- Non-payment of a judgment relating to an uninsured/underinsured automobile accident
- A conviction for no proof of insurance
- Failure to appear in court or pay fines of a previously issued traffic ticket
Reinstatement Fees and Forms
You must pay a fee and file the necessary forms to reinstate your license. The fee amounts and required forms depend on why your license was suspended or revoked. The chart that lists the specific fees and forms required can be found on the Missouri Department of Revenue here.
Payments and forms can be submitted in person or by mail, and you can also pay your reinstatement fee online.
Five- and Ten-Year License Denial
If you receive alcohol-related convictions (such as DWIs) twice within five years of your first conviction, you will receive a five-year license denial where the Department of Revenue will deny your ability to get a license for five years.
If you receive a third alcohol-related conviction within five years of your first conviction, you will receive a ten-year license denial where your ability to get a license will be denied for ten years.
After the suspension time has passed, you will need to file a petition to the circuit court where you received the last alcohol-related conviction in order to obtain a reinstatement of your license. The court will typically hold a hearing to determine whether the Missouri Department of Revenue should issue your driver’s license.
What Will Happen at the Court Hearing?
There are certain criteria you must meet to obtain your license after a five- or ten-year license denial and the court will look into whether you meet the requirements or not before they decide to reissue your license.
You must not have been convicted of drug or alcohol charges during the five- or ten-year suspension period. If you were convicted of such charges during the suspension period then the clock starts over.
At the hearing:
- The judge may question you to determine if your habits and conduct show you no longer pose a threat to public safety.
- Your criminal record will be examined to see if you’ve been found guilty of or have pending charges for any alcohol, controlled substances, or drug-related offense during the time of your license suspension.
It is very important to be prepared in advance of this hearing and especially for when the judge questions you. For proper guidance, work with an attorney who has experience in these proceedings. With the help of the license reinstatement lawyers at Deputy & Mizell, you have a greater chance of successfully proving your need for reinstatement as well as your improved conduct.
There may also be additional requirements for having your license reinstated and they will vary from case to case depending on the nature of your conviction, the presence of any prior convictions, and how well the hearing proceeds.
Other requirements may include:
- Additional fines
- Community service
- Special classes
Speak to Our Missouri License Reinstatement Lawyers
Reinstating your driver’s license can be an overwhelming task that requires in-depth court knowledge. You can trust that Deputy & Mizell will do all we can to regain your driving privileges and get you back on the road in no time. Call our experienced Camdenton and Lebanon criminal defense lawyers at 1-877-532-2191 or contact us today!CONTACT US | SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION