It’s your big day! With all of the planning and excitement, you probably haven’t had time to think about what is legally required to get married. In this blog, our experienced law firm at the Lake of the Ozarks is going to clear the air and explain what marriage law is, what is required in the state of Missouri to get married and who can perform a marriage in Missouri.
Marriage licenses in the state of Missouri are issued by the Recorder of Deeds. To apply for a marriage license in Missouri, you are not required to be Missouri residents. Here’s how it works; 1. both parties must present themselves in person before the recorder of
1. Both parties must present themselves in person before the recorder of deeds or a deputy recorder.
2. Then, they must present valid identification containing the date of birth and social security card to apply for a marriage license.
Please note that fees for a marriage license and copies may vary by county.
Required to Get Married in Missouri
When choosing to get married, you must understand there are things you have to have or required fields you must comply with before that can be accomplished.
- You must pick up the license prior to the marriage ceremony.
- The person who is performing the ceremony must have the license prior to the ceremony.
- All applicants for a marriage license must be at least 18 years old.
- If an applicant is younger than 18, they must have consent from a custodial parent or guardian. (If 15 or younger, you must obtain a circuit court order.)
- No applicants can be married already.
- The person performing the marriage ceremony can return the license to the issuing Recorder of Deeds within 15 days.
If a marriage doesn’t occur, the license shall be void after thirty days from the date of issuance.
Who Can Perform a Marriage in Missouri
According to Section 451.100.1 of the Missouri Revised Statutes, “Marriages may be solemnized by any clergyman, either active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in this state. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation, by any judge, including a municipal judge. Marriages may also be solemnized by a religious society, religious institution, or religious organization of this state, according to the regulations and customs of the society, institution or organization, when either party to the marriage to be solemnized is a member of such society, institution or organization.”
Fees and requirements to get married can vary by county in Missouri. Deputy & Mizell has experienced many family law cases and unfortunately, marriages don’t always work out. In fact in America, almost half of marriages end in divorce. If you find yourself in an unfortunate situation such as this, you will need a mid-Missouri divorce lawyer you can trust. We pursue every available option to ensure our clients are in the best possible situation as they transition into a new phase of their lives.
Contact Deputy & Mizell, LLC to schedule your private (FREE) consultation today.
Representing Clients Across the Lake of the Ozarks Region
Lebanon: 417-532-2191 Facebook
Camdenton: 573-346-9990 Twitter
Eldon: 573-227-3788 Google+