If you are facing charges for a drug crime at the Lake of the Ozarks, you may be looking at some serious offenses. It’s important to realize, having our highly qualified criminal defense attorneys in your corner means you will have expert representation throughout your case. Deputy and Mizell considers the facts of the case and works to get you the best possible outcome. Depending on the case, this might include:
- Having charges dismissed if the evidence is insufficient
- Building a strong defense
- Plea bargain negotiations for a reduced sentence
- Jury selection if the case goes to trial
- Debunking the prosecutor’s case
Keep reading this week’s blog for more NEED-TO-KNOW information related to drug crimes. For your free consultation, call our Lake of the Ozarks law firm today at 573-346-9990.
Felony Drug Charge Penalties A prior drug offender is one who has been found guilty of any felony offense relating to controlled substances. A persistent drug offender is one who has been found guilty of two or more felony offenses relating to controlled substances. Persistent drug offenders may be sentenced to one felony class level higher. The felony class will determine the amount of jail time and fines you will be sentenced to. Class A: 10-30 years incarceration Class B: 5-15 years incarceration, 10-30 years for persistent offenders Class C: 3-10 years incarceration, 5-15 years for persistent offenders Class D: up to 7 years incarceration Class E: up to 4 years incarceration, up to 7 for persistent offenders
Missouri Drug Laws Missouri is one of the few states with extremely strict drug possession laws that consider any amount in your possession to be a very serious charge. For example, if you’re caught with a speck of cocaine in your car, you are going to face the same charges as someone with a gram of cocaine in their car. Possession of any controlled substance is considered a Class D felony under Missouri law. The one exception to that is marijuana — if you are in possession of 35 grams of marijuana or less you are charged with a misdemeanor. Delivery of a controlled substance and intent to distribute in Missouri are Class C felonies.
Marijuana Drug Possession Laws Missouri has medical marijuana laws enacted; however, without a medical marijuana card you can still be charged with Marijuana Possession, under Missouri law, you can be charged with the following: Up to 10 grams (first offense): Class D Misdemeanor, no incarceration, up to $500 fine Up to 10 grams (second offense): Class A Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, up to $2,000 fine More than 10-35 grams: Class A Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, up to $2,000 fine More than 35-30 kilograms: (historically charged with intent to distribute) Felony, 7 years incarceration, up to $10,000 fine
Deputy and Mizell Can Handle A Wide Range of Drug-Related Cases From possession to trafficking, we take on a wide range of drug crime cases. Our defense attorneys are experts at handling state and federal drug cases including:
- Possession of drugs and controlled substances
- Possession with intent to distribute
- Distribution and conspiracy to distribute
- Drug sales
- Drug trafficking
- Drug manufacturing and cultivation
- Drug importation
For more information, please give us a call today, we can be reached at the offices listed below.
Contact Deputy & Mizell, LLC to schedule your private (FREE) consultation today.
Representing Clients Across the Lake of the Ozarks Region